Tiger, Tiger, Burning Bright


Definitely no shadows in this picture. These two tigers were playing in the water on a hot day at Disney’s Animal Kingdom, and I was just learning how to use my Nikon d60 properly. I was so excited about having photos of tigers on such a hot, humid Florida day that I didn’t check my settings until after the damage was done. With four other family members in tow, I couldn’t return to rectify the damage. I had my ISO set to 800, my f-stop at 5.6, and the shutter speed at 1/125. For the amount of sun, I completely washed out the pictures. ISO 100 would have been more than enough, and with the ISO that low, everything else would have fallen into place. Moral of the story: Despite whatever may be happening, CHECK YOUR SETTINGS. Even if you get that shot of Shamu right before he splashes the unsuspecting tourists, it will mean nothing if the shot is over or under exposed. The color will be off, and with an ISO of 800 the noise is close to ridiculous. You can’t bring back what’s overexposed or underexposed, the information is lost (unless you’re shooting RAW, but I’ll save that for another post).

Leave a Reply

