Pomp and Circumstance

Summer makes me think of a few different things: the beach, baseball, barbecues, and beginnings. Graduation celebrates commencement. The definition of commencement is “the time at which something is supposed to begin”. My brother’s graduation from high school marks the beginning of his college career. Sure, college starts in August, but every big step deserves a great vacation prior to its beginning.

The summer of 2010 has been one of the hottest summers I can remember, and the day of graduation was no exception. Coolers could be found throughout the bleachers. Bottles of water were handed out to the students waiting patiently for their diplomas in the middle of the high school track. One of the speakers claimed that we would never forget his speech (something about Fish), and then someone passed out in the middle of it causing an ambulance to be driven onto the field.  Either way, there were few dry eyes when students threw their caps in the air.

I kept my ISO at 100 since there was ample sunlight and little movement from my subjects. I wish I could have been closer to the action to try out different angles, but since I wasn’t my Sigma f/2.8 70-200 was working overtime. Then again, I didn’t ask if I could. I’m going to kick myself for that, especially since I know the school (I graduated from high school, too, you know). Plus, I hope you enjoy the photos as much as I did watching my youngest sibling enter “adult”-hood.

 

2 thoughts on “Pomp and Circumstance

Leave a Reply

