America’s Favorite Pastime

Working in Massachusetts had quite a few perks. One of them was being 20 minutes from one of the greatest and oldest baseball stadiums in America. Home of the Boston Red Sox, Fenway Park opened on April 20, 1912 (6 days after the sinking of the Titanic for all you history nuts). Ironically, they played the New York Yankees (then the New York Highlanders) and won the game, 7-6.

As a Mets fan, rather than a Yankee fan, I figured it was safe to wear my Mets jersey, and I was right. Aside from being heckled by a jersey-less intoxicated Boston fan (“Boo, Mets!” She clearly didn’t know the standings), questioned by the man who scanned my ticket (“The Mets?”), and hailed by the only Yankee fan in the place (“Go Mets!”), I was left alone to take some great photos of the place and the game!

At f/2.8, I could get my shutter speed as high as 1/1600s despite the fact that it was a night game because my ISO was through the roof. My number one difficulty was avoiding the poles. Though not directly in front of our seats, I had no view of the pitcher’s mound the entire game unless I leaned from side to side. The seats were also underneath the roof, so we missed anything in the air. I still had a great time, but in future, I will research the seats I’m looking to purchase better.

Leave a Reply

