Autumn Explosion

With the world looking dreary once again, I thought I’d help make it colorful with a fall themed post! The colors of autumn in the Northeast always put a smile on my face. I had a chance to spend a weekend in November with some friends from college in Rochester, NY. Shockingly enough, it didn’t rain the entire weekend! Only part of it. On the day it didn’t rain, it was the complete opposite of typical upstate New York weather. For all of you who don’t know what it’s like, think of the weather typically found in Seattle and London, but more snow. On this particularly beautiful spring-like day, we set out for a walk around Highland Park which is best known for its yearly Lilac Festival.

Even though it was the end of fall, the trees had managed to hold onto their foliage just for me, very thoughtful. We found an area full of Japanese Maple trees with some of the greatest color around! When it comes to capturing autumn colors, I don’t think there is such a thing as “too many photos”. Go to town! On the Nikon d60, I like to set my color to “Most Vivid” and not “Black and White” for obvious reasons.

I played around with focus points. One of the most frustrating things about my d60 is is only has three focus points, so you don’t always get what you want. For that reason, I took the same shot and had the focus point at different places. With an f/3.5, different leaves came into perspective or were lost which looked interesting. I picked my favorites from the day. Let me know what you think! Enjoy! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Autumn Explosion

  1. i really enjoy your entries. gotta remember to stop by more often. also applaud your ability to sustain and you have a great eye for composition. cool stuff! keep it up.

Leave a Reply

