Live and Learn, and then Write a Post About It

It’s that time of year again! The time of year where I decide being able to pay the rent isn’t as important as buying a shiny new lens. The lens I looked into was the Nikkor f/1.4 50mm. For emphasis, it’d be nice if you “oooo”-ed out loud. Go ahead, try it. No one’s around. I won’t tell on you. Did you do it? You’re awesome. If you didn’t do it, that awesome was not for you.

Why oh why did I buy this lens? It was really for the f/stop that I spent my money on it. With a maximum f/1.4, my field of depth can be dramatically decreased, similar to my Sigma lens which can get an f-stop of 2.8, but this new lens can double in aperture size. I know the numbers are decreasing and not increasing which may be confusing but work with me here. A larger aperture (a.k.a. f/1.4) means I’ll need less light for photos, so a flash is not always necessary. It will decrease my depth of field as well, which will only be a downer if I forget to adjust the f-stop depending on the situation. Otherwise a small depth of field means fuzzier backgrounds and sometimes fuzzier subjects. Like the puppy pictured above. Usually Madison is fuzzy enough, but now she looks all soft and snuggly, and kind of like a painting rather than a photograph.

Onto the purchase. There were two forms of this lens that I was looking at: the Nikkor 50 mm f/1.4 D AF and the Nikkor 50mm f/1.4 G AF-S. As you can see on Amazon, there’s a price difference of over $100, but other than the D vs. G and the AF vs. AF-S, what’s with that? I pulled down the details menus and read that there really wasn’t anything different between the two at all (or so Amazon said). So I did what any starving artist does. I ordered the cheaper of the two. What I really should have done is researched a bit more before taking out my credit card. That’s my mistake, 100%.

For those of you who don’t know, I own a Nikon d60. The thing that makes a d60 so affordable and light is that it doesn’t have a motor inside of it for autofocus. That feature has to be inside of the lens. AF means the lens can autofocus, but your camera has to have the motor to pull it off. AF-S means the lens not only autofocuses but has the internal motor to pull it off. If you’re wondering about your camera, please take a look at the forum page I found and don’t be like me. Do your homework.

As soon as I am refunded the $360 for the first lens, I’m going to bite the bullet and order the Nikkor f/1.4 G 50mm AF-S. It’s going to be so worth it!

2 thoughts on “Live and Learn, and then Write a Post About It

Leave a Reply

