Down By the Cove

This summer, I was fortunate enough to spend a weekend out east with a few friends in Greenport, NY. If you’re not sure where it is, it’s on the North Fork of Long Island. The vibe of the town as a whole is very laid back and easy-going. It doesn’t draw the same crowd the Hamptons get, and the stores/restaurants are a bit more manageable on your wallet. One of the mornings we were there, I happened to wake up at 7:30 a.m. (isn’t it weird how as soon as you’re on vacation, you sleep like you have work?). Rather than wake everyone up, I took a walk down to Pipes Cove with my camera. I found rocks, shells, boats, birds… You know, beach-type things! I managed to bring three lenses with me: Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6, Nikkor 50mm f/1.4, and my Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8. The Nikkor lenses I used for photographing the seashells and views of the water. The Sigma was for the birds.

When the ospreys flew in, I was so excited! A chance to photograph birds of prey! One immediately went to the nest (I’m assuming it was mommy-bird) while the other circled for a very, very long time. While it was circling, it kept coming lower and lower, closer and closer. I couldn’t help but think, “This is the best shot I’ll take. Wait, this one is closer. Hold up, this one is even better!” I managed to narrow it down to three for this post, but I definitely wanted to do a few others 🙂 Best advice I can give? Take the extra picture! Better to delete it while you’re sitting in front of your computer than kick yourself for not taking the opportunity.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

