Cure4Claire Ultimate Tournament


Saint Patrick’s Day is a lot of things to different people, but for one little girl, Claire, this year’s Saint Patty’s Day was about raising money to help find her cure. In the tenth month of her life, Claire was diagnosed with Ewing’s Sarcoma cancer. Ewing’s Sarcoma mainly affects children between the ages of 10 and 19, but in very rare cases can be found in children under 3 years old. When I say rare, I mean that there is a “rate of 0.3 case per 1,000,000 children in those younger than 3 years of age”. Like all cancers, treatments are expensive and insurance can only help so much. How does a family raise money and awareness in this day and age?

This is where the Ultimate community comes in to do their part. Isaiah Bryant, a friend of Claire’s uncle, put together a tournament on Saint Patrick’s Day at Riverside Park in New York City. The entry fee was $5, and ALL of the proceeds went to Cure4Claire (UltimateRec donated the use of the fields). $1,015 was raised that day by the Ultimate community.

Hearing about this tournament, two thoughts crossed my mind: “I’d love to donate to the cause and have a great Ultimate-filled Saint Patrick’s Day,” and “If I photograph the people playing Ultimate, I can help raise just a little more money!” So, leaving my cleats at home, I trekked to the upper-west side of Manhattan with my camera in hand.

Photographing at Riverside Park was a lot of fun thanks to the giant wall that lines the fields at 107th street. Photographing from up top gave me a whole new perspective on my subject, especially since I usually photograph kneeling or sitting right next to the field. My Sigma 70-200mm lens definitely came in handy up top, but I used my 18-55mm Nikkor lens just as much, especially because the view was so nice.

I’ve posted all of the photos saturated with watermarks on my Facebook page that way anyone who attended the tournament could see their picture. If you want a picture without the watermark, all you have to do is go to the Cure4Claire website run by GoFundMe.com and make a $1 donation. Every $1 buys you one watermark-free photograph. After you make the donation, you e-mail me the receipt from your donation and tell me which photo it is you would like. Simple as that! 🙂

Enjoy! And don’t forget to do your part, even if you’re not getting a picture 🙂

Leave a Reply

